Working with the Layers Pane

Add, remove, and configure data layers.

All spatial data for a project are represented as layers, of which there are several types: the Base Canvas, scenario layers, reference data layers, filtered layers, and analysis layers. The inclusion, visibility, and ordering of layers are managed using the controls and features of the Layers pane.

Note that all layers that are added to a project, including those created as saved filter selections or as analysis outputs, become available to all users with access to the project. Layer settings, including layer visibility, ordering, symbology, and active filters, are linked to individual users.

This article describes the Layers pane controls, and details on how to set layer visibility, arrange layers, and remove or delete layers.

Layers Pane Controls

The Layers pane includes controls for adding layers to your project, adjusting their visibility and order on your map, and working with individual layers.

Layer Pane with Layer Details Pane extended

Upload Layer. The Upload Layer buttonat the top of the pane opens the dialog to upload your own data. See Uploading Data Layers for details on uploading data to your project.

Add Layer. The + Add button at the top of the pane opens the Layer Manager to access reference data layers. See Using Reference Data for details on adding reference layers to your project.

Layer Details. The tab at the top right side of the Layers list opens or closes the Layer Details pane, which includes tabs to access controls for styling and filtering layers, viewing layer source information, editing the Base Canvas layer (if the Base Scenario is selected and the active layer is the Base Canvas), or building scenarios (if the active layer is a scenario layer).

Layers List. The Layers list gets populated as you add or upload layers to your project and run analyses. The list will initially contain layers for your project area and the Base Canvas. The different layer types — Base Canvas, scenario layers, reference data, uploaded data, filtered layers, and spatial analysis outputs — are denoted by icons to the left of the layer names.

Roll over layer entries to view individual layer controls. You can also click and drag layers to change their order in the map. See How to Arrange Layers for details.

Layer Options menu
  • Filter. Opens the Layer Filter Tab. See Filtering and Joining Data for details.

  • Show/Hide. Sets layer visibility. See How to Set Layer Visibility for details.

  • Layer Options > Add to Constraints. Constrains features in a layer from receiving new development. See Defining Constraints for details.

  • Layer Options > Remove Layer. If permitted for the layer type, removes the layer from the Layers list. Reference layers that exist in the Layer Manager are not deleted -- they can be removed and subsequently re-added if needed. See How to Remove or Delete a Layer for details.

  • Layer Options > Delete Layer. If permitted for the layer type, deletes the layer from your project. User-uploaded layers and layers that have been saved as filtered selections can be deleted. Once deleted they cannot be recovered. See How to Remove or Delete a Layer for details.

  • Layer Options > Show only painted geometries. Available for scenario canvases only; allows you to view only those features that have been painted.

How to Set Layer Visibility

Visible layers are denoted by darker layer name text. Turn layers on and off using the Show/Hide control, which appears as you roll over each layer.

View of the Layers list.

The map is redrawn when layers are shown or hidden. The same layer visibility settings are maintained across scenarios. Remember that all layer settings, including visibility, ordering, symbology, and active filters, are linked to individual users.

How to Arrange Layers

The order of layers on the map is determined by their order in the Layers list. Layers higher in the list are displayed atop layers that are lower in the list.

To adjust layer ordering, click on a layer entry and drag it to the desired position in the Layers list.

Reordering layers

The map is redrawn when layers are reordered. The same layer order is maintained across scenarios. Remember that all layer settings, including visibility, ordering, symbology, and active filters, are linked to individual users.

How to Remove or Delete Layers

Whether you can remove or delete a layer depends on its type. Reference data layers are "removed" rather than deleted since they can be added back in from the Layer Manager. Deletion applies to user-uploaded layers, filtered layers, and buffered layers. Once deleted, layers cannot be recovered.

Layer types generated by UrbanFootprint -- the Project Area, Context Area, the Base Canvas, scenario layers, and analysis output layers -- cannot be removed or deleted.

To remove a layer:

1. Roll over a layer entry in the Layers list and click the Open menu button to open the Layer Options menu.

2. Select Remove layer or Delete. The layer will be removed, if applicable. If deletion applies to the layer type, a confirmation dialog will appear. If you confirm, your layer will be deleted.

Learn More